Hot Topic
Topic

Opinion Articles – Coronavirus: Impact on the Hospitality Industry

share this hot topic
Coronavirus: Impact on the Hospitality Industry

All eyes are on the spreading coronvirus, COVID-19. Here you can follow the development and the impact of the coronavirus on the Hospitality Industry. Visit the WHO | World Health Organization for more information about the virus.

Click here to contribute your content | Stay up-to-date subscribe to our newsletter.

You are currently browsing a filtered list, click here for all content.

Do Not Let Covid Infect Your Brand

By Keith Kefgen

The first thing that came to mind when Marriott International furloughed two-thirds of its corporate and property staff was - Is this going to severely impact the Marriott brand and the relationship with their most important asset: PEOPLE.

Serving up the future: Technology in F&B

By Kimberly Yoong

Even as the adoption of high-end technology became increasingly prevalent across industries around the world, the hospitality industry had long resisted indulging in automation, insisting on the value of the 'human touch'.

New hotel cleaning protocols will cost hotels over $130k per year

By Soenke Weiss

As new hospitality cleaning protocols are being released on a daily basis worldwide, we have worked with our hotel partners to calculate the cost of implementing the new cleaning requirements. Initial analysis shows that hotels will need to budget around $130,000 for a 250-room hotel, running at around 60% occupancy.

The best in hospitality debate: RISE, episodes 1-5

By Beatrice Venturini

RISE is an exciting and relevant weekly conversation between industry professionals and students, graduates & job seekers in the Travel, Tourism & Hospitality sector. Reconnecting, reflecting and re-examining where in the world we are, and above all, separating the news from the noise.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow the coronavirus developments, sign up for the Hospitality Net 360 Newsletter and get the latest stories delivered right to your inbox.

Tech Visionary and Entrepreneur Einar Rosenberg Talks About Critical Must-Have Hotel Solutions for a Post-Pandemic World

By Alan Young

The term 'visionary' is hardly a novel concept, especially in an age so defined by digital expertise and thought leadership. But, what exactly defines a visionary? Is it an exceptional idea? A desire for continued innovation? Or, perhaps, foresight for what is to come in any given industry space? In the case of Einar Rosenberg, it is all of the above.

Why More Travel Brands And Destinations Should Amplify LGBT+ And Diversity Efforts As We Enter A “New Normal”

By Loren Duran

We've seen that the COVID-19 pandemic has triggered global diversity efforts, rallying together as minority groups have been negatively targeted. In a time where people are hypersensitive when making decisions, especially around travel, it is the responsibility of brands to connect with consumers on a deeper level via their communications.

The Importance of Sporting Events for the Las Vegas Market

By Shannon S. Okada

By the time Nevada's Governor Sisolak ordered the closure of Nevada's non-essential businesses and urged residents to implement social-distancing measures to reduce the spreading of COVID-19 on March 17, 2020, the National Hockey League (NHL) and National Basketball Association (NBA) had suspended their 2019-20 regular seasons, and Major League Baseball (MLB) had suspended its Spring Training and delayed the start of the 2020 regular season.

21st Century Healthy Hotels and Resorts

By Tim Lemons

The rapid onset of the novel coronavirus and resulting COVID- 19 has stopped the world-wide economy, thus adversely affecting business and industry at large. Specifically, the hospitality industry has been hard hit as the vast majority of hotel and leisure properties have been forced to close to slow the widespread advance of this virus and limit the death and pain left in its wake.

Utility Players as a Way to Save Hotels on Staffing

By Larry Mogelonsky

The post-COVID recovery will not mirror the initial reactions to the global lockdown for the hospitality industry. Namely, with hotels shutting down and laying employees off in droves, most properties will be reluctant to rehire all those previously let go because occupancies will take a long time to get to their pre-pandemic levels, thus not necessitating full staffing and recruitment.

Re-Negotiating Your Management Agreement: The Owner’s Perspective

By Alex Sogno

COVID-19 introduced the hotel industry to a lot of uncertainties for the future. It also revealed several weak spots and high-risk areas within hotel management agreements (HMA's). As these weaknesses become more evident, it is important to decide which points to focus on, how they can be adapted moving forward, and how each party can make the necessary adjustments to help each other out.

How To Show The Welcoming Smiles Behind The Masks Of Your Hotel Staff

By Doug Kennedy

As part of the hotel and lodging industry's effort to help guests feel safe about traveling during the current COVID-19 pandemic era, nearly all are requiring hotel staff to wear facemasks. However, one down-side is of course the fact that our colleagues can no longer share their warm and welcoming smiles as they greet guests at the front entrance, pass by them in hallways and corridors or when serving them in dining and recreational outlets.

Travel and Healthcare in a Post-COVID-19 World

By Jenny Cohen Derfler

Few anticipated this crisis. Everyone is speculating - although "fantasizing" might be a better word - about what the post-COVID-19 world will look like. Experts say that the situation could be under control in the countries that became infected first, but the COVID-19 situation changes too fast, so it is difficult to predict the future.

22 Best Practices For Your Wellness And Spa Department During And Post-COVID-19

By Alex Sogno

Sooner or later, COVID-19 will be a thing of the past. However, as the crisis will pass, many things will have changed. New ways of working, new consumption patterns, a new way of interacting with people, and most certainly, cleanliness standards as new ways of measuring the attractiveness of hotels will become the norm.

Will Hotel Technology Ever Rule The World?

By James Harrison

Will Hotel technology Ever Rule The World? An interesting topic that I came up with, almost as a humorous, tongue in cheek look at an automated future in hotels. However, I first thought of the idea in December 2019, and planned to publish an article in March 2020.

Major Las Vegas Development Projects Status Update

By Shannon S. Okada

As of the end of January 2020, prior to the closures of businesses determined to be non-essential and the announcement of stay-at-home recommendations due to COVID-19, the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA) indicated that construction of over 12,000 hotel rooms was scheduled to be completed by 2023.

HVS: Emerging Hotel Brands

By Brittany Hart

As COVID-19 was declared a global pandemic by the World Health Organization (WHO) on March 11, the hospitality industry began to experience sharp declines in lodging demand given the cancellation of events and the travel restrictions set by the government, which contributed to the drop in all performance metrics.

Independent Hotel Owners Should Look At Integrating Their Assets Into A Portfolio

By Gustav Bjoern

Stronger together! Merge to survive… and thrive! For hotel owners and investors, access to friendly capital, shared resources and additional capital appreciation provided by entering assets into a partnership - that famous "portfolio effect", can these days be what stands between survival and losing control.

A Quick Review of 2019 Industry Performance

By Robert Mandelbaum

Given the extreme negative impact of COVID-19 on the U.S. lodging industry in 2020, we recognize the limited practicality of benchmarking the bleak 2020 operating performance of hotels against the relatively prosperous 2019 benchmarks.

Beware the Post-Pandemic Cruise Surge

By Larry Mogelonsky

In the midst of this COVID-19 isolation period, we hoteliers are all mulling over how travel behavior will change and where customers will come from following the end of lockdown. One thought therein pertains to the conversion of cruise travelers; the going argument being that cruise lines have gained near-permanent notoriety as 'floating petri dishes' during this whole ordeal and that many leisure consumers will opt for traditional hotels because of this stigma.

Travel Predictions for Summer 2020 After Two Seasons of Pandemic and Social Unrest

By Dr. Zongqing Zhou

It is relatively difficult to predict summer travel, particularly after the massive national protests that add a potentially tide-turning consumer psychological breaker. But, if the protests do not trigger a second wave of the pandemic, the threat of contamination by the coronavirus will be drastically reduced in the minds of the travelers and we may expect a more peaceful and steady increase of travel for the latter part of summer.

A Four Phase Theory to the Return of Travel

By Jacki Brown

As members of the hospitality industry, we are full of questions about what the future of travel will look like, how it will evolve, and especially when it will return. As travelers ourselves, full of wanderlust and a desire to see and connect with new cultures, we're all individually grappling with how COVID-19 has and will continue to impact our lives in the foreseeable future.

COVID-19: Hospitality Employee Sentiment Findings

By Bhavna Bhatia

The last few months have been unprecedented difficult times for the hospitality and travel industry employees who were severely impacted. Hotel closures as well as travel halts have naturally forced companies to take measures that have resulted in furloughs, terminations, and salary cuts.

100 Ideas For The Food & Beverage Industry Post COVID-19

By Alex Sogno

The COVID-19 crisis led to major structural and operational changes for the restaurant industry, from the implementation of new health standards to adaptation to new customer expectations. We offer 100 ideas to allow independent restaurateurs or operating in hotels to meet these challenges and choose from this list the most suitable ideas for their activity.

How COVID-19 Is Eating Into Hotel Profit

By David Eisen

COVID-19 plunged a knife in the collective heart of the global hotel industry and in one fell swoop destroyed demand, sending revenue and profit to historically low levels. This global pandemic is the most harrowing event to ever besiege the hospitality industry.

The Re-Opening Process Post COVID-19

By Korosh Farazad

We all hope for a v-shaped recovery globally after pandemic lockdown later this year in Q3-Q4. When the government and health services finally give the greenlight to reopen the hotels, it will be the time to get back to business as the market will pick up its footing.

10 KEY TIPS on re-opening your restaurant post pandemic

By Paul Sarlas

It's been difficult for many operators and the only past experience we can use to best understand how to come out of this situation is the learnings from past recessions or economic downturns. And common sense would tell you that starting a business in hard economic times is a bad idea.

What Should We Be Doing?

By Benoit Gateau-Cumin

Napoleon used to say an army is guided by its stomach: and here we are running out of food. In the worst possible way. When every bit of available food is used, it is merely a famine. When thousands upon thousands of gallons of milk are being dumped, it is fodder for civil riots.

It’s Time to Invest in Your Employees’ Safety

By Jay Reed

It's a dangerous world out there. New threats are making it challenging to reduce risks facing hotel employees. Even with heightened cleaning standards and sanitizing technology, it may be difficult to lure frontline workers - especially housekeepers - back to work.

The Future of Travel

By Stephan Radwitz

Even before lockdown, the travel industry was going through a period of change, led by two driving forces: climate change and technological innovation. Now that we are stuck at home, we are dreaming about the pleasure and opportunities of travel and fantasising about what could be improved in the industry.

Boldly Getting Back To Business

By Larry Mogelonsky

Like most of you, I am chomping at the bit to get back to work. Ever the optimist, I want to see all of my clients' properties start to churn their respective wheels of operation. But before we all flip the sign from closed to open, let's stop for a minute and ask what this closure has taught us.

Restaurants Reopening: An Overview From Lausanne, Switzerland

On Monday 11th May, restaurants and bars were among the few public establishments in Switzerland allowed to reopen. The move was preceded by lengthy Federal Counsel regulations made available to all restaurateurs setting out the now rather familiar guidelines: 2m distances between tables, maximum 4 people at a table, strict hygiene measures, service staff in masks and required contact details of each customer.

Six Guidelines To A Sustainable Recovery For Hotels Post-COVID-19

By Alex Sogno

Sustainability is regarded as the key to a successful business in the 21st century. It is fast becoming a top concern for public and private sectors alike. The hospitality industry is no exception. 2020 was set to be a year of collective action on climate change until COVID-19 brought many unknowns, including how future travel behavior will develop and whether sustainable initiatives will be forgotten or gain priority.

How to Keep Your Brain Sharp During Down Time

By Prince A. Sanders

For many of us, we are now a while into quarantine. We have been tested in so many new ways during this pandemic, especially mentally. Our brains like to be active and stimulated. But, are we doing a good job of keeping our noggins sharp? Many of the activities that would usually keep our brains busy (socializing, interacting at work, etc.

How Will Hotels Turn Profitable Again?

By Saurabh Gupta

The onset of COVID-19 is the mega crisis of our lifetime. For the hospitality sector, it is an Armageddon event threatening to wipe out the good, the bad and the ugly without any distinction. Arne Sorenson of Marriott described the impact of the pandemic to be more severe than the 9/11 attacks and the 2008 financial crisis combined.

The First 100 Days

By Adam Knight

As we start to understand our new normal, there's an opportunity for savvy managers and business owners to outline an action plan that will launch them out of their current situation and provide the momentum needed to be successful in our new normal.

4 Steps Hotels Should Take To Adapt To A Post-COVID World

By Achim Schmitt

With decreasing infection rates and a slight recovery from the pandemic, many hotel and restaurant owners are raising the question on how to prepare for the post-COVID 19 world of hospitality. While some fear a second wave with similar economic implications, others consider that the reopening of national hotels and restaurant industries can come quicker than expected.

Your Post-COVID Fresh Start Checklist

By Larry Mogelonsky

In your hotel career, there will probably never be another opportunity when you have the chance for a new lease on life. With your property temporarily closed and little to no reservations on the books, you are unglued from history as no one is going to use the typical 'negative-nelly' reasons for rejecting your bold initiatives.

How COVID-19 Can Stimulate Healthier Hospitality Leadership

By Petra Deuter

Much has already been written about how travel and tourism will be irrevocably changed by the coronavirus pandemic. Optimists and realists alike are focusing on more environmentally friendly ways of reaching our chosen destinations, more sensitive ways of considering local culture and more sustainable, ethical methods of sharing and distributing the financial benefits of tourism.

Key Questions on Employees’ Minds Right Now, Part I/II

By James Houran

Many hospitality students and professionals around the world recently participated in AETHOS' series of development webinars. These sessions offered attendees the opportunity to complete the 20|20 Skills™ assessment to gain a personal SWOT analysis to help them navigate these challenging times of occupational crisis and change.

The Myth Of ‘Crisis Leadership’

By Keith Kefgen

Google the phrase "crisis leadership," and you get over half a billion (yes, with a "b") entries. It is one of the hot topics on social media now, with new entries appearing daily. Everyone in the business world is talking about it, and they all seem to characterize it the same way: that crisis leadership reflects a highly specialized skill set or psychometric profile that is significantly different than "everyday" leadership.

Hotel-Casinos: Get Ready for Re-Opening

By Casey Munck

Several hotel-casinos across the states in the US are re-opening this week, offering a glimpse of how the industry will recover amid social distancing. As your property emerges from hibernation mode, build a phased recovery plan that ramps up slowly as your casino reopens.

Hotel Technology: The Answers

By James Harrison

Anyone who follows my personal posts on LinkedIn will have recently seen me sharing a lot of truths. This is going to continue in a similar vein, albeit focussed on Hotel Technology. The truth is, as of early May 2020, we don't have all the answers.

Lifting The Lockdown: What’s Next For Hospitality?

By Gareth Ogden

As the UK looks to emerge from the COVID-19 lockdown, business leaders have been calling upon the Government to set out its plan for how we might return to some sense of normality. Unsurprisingly, the hospitality industry has been amongst the most vocal, given numerous concerns over the practicalities of reopening venues under social distancing guidelines.

COVID-19 and the Ensuing Design Changes to Hospitality Spaces

By Beatrice Venturini

An interview with Monika Moser, Regional Managing Director at Wilson Associates, specialists in innovating hospitality architecture and design for luxury and boutique brands. Monika also featured as guest speaker in last month's EHL webinar "The Impact of COVID-19 on Hotel Real Estate", where her views on the inevitable changes to the future look of hospitality design shed a practical light on what hotels and restaurants post COVID-19 should be bearing in mind, along with the even more important theme of shifting values of their future customers.

Have you Taken Your Team’s Temperature Lately?

By Stefano Borzillo

Hospitality is typically founded on teams of individuals working together, not only for the high performance of their function but also for creating a positive experience for guests. We can see that F&B, front desk and housekeeping teams all have an effect on guests' impressions of their hotel stay.

Essential Cybersecurity Guidelines To Protect Your Business When Working Remotely

By Alex Sogno

Three weeks ago, Marriott International announced they had experienced a data breach, putting the personal data of 5.2 million guests at risk (1). While this number dwarfs in comparison to the data breach of 500 million Marriott and Starwood guests in late 2018 (2), the message is clear: hotels are a target for threats and need to focus on protecting their employees' and guests' data.

Marketing in Uncharted Waters - The COVID Era

By Ajay Mehtani

It's a tough world, a difficult & unprecedented situation as the hospitality sector is on a standstill globally! So, should Marketing Spends be put on hold during this time? Should we all go home and hope to return when demand picks? No.

COVID-19 Recovery Series: Email Marketing

While our industry continues to deal with a state of travel that is breaking all norms, there is actually an opportunity to solidify relationships with your audience. A strong email marketing strategy will keep loyal guests engaged and can even be a source of positive news to your audience as you lead them down the booking path for the future.

Managing the Risk of Fraud During COVID-19

By Kevin Doyle

I wanted to share with you some thoughts I have around the potential unintended consequences connected with the necessary winnowing of hotels' finance and operational headcount. First and foremost, hotels had to take all steps necessary to stem their evaporating cash.

Break the “Unwritten Rules of Upselling”

By Jos Schaap

We are now in the midst of a pandemic, the likes of which few alive today have ever experienced. COVID-19 has spread to every corner of the globe, causing health care and economic devastation. The hospitality ecosystem has been particularly hobbled, with hotels being one of the hardest-hitsectors.

Crisis Management for Pandemic, Hurricane or Terrorist Threat

By Chuck Kelley

Whether you are responding to a potential pandemic, a natural catastrophe or a terrorist threat the opportunity for success is driven by preparedness. By this we mean proactive planning, mock drills, learning from history, constant review, updating and never letting your guard down - you can't make it up as you go.

Survey Results: How Hotels Are Coping With COVID-19

By Casey Munck

The results are in from two Cendyn surveys polling hoteliers across the globe on how they are coping with the effects of COVID-19. Gauge the industry pulse and read first-hand accounts of how hoteliers are dealing with the coronavirus on both an individual level and as an operation.

The Five Changes Expected in the Hotel Industry

By Adam Knight

Returning to operations in our new environment is sure to bring many expected and unexpected challenges. Between figuring out social distancing protocols and mitigating risk throughout the property, hotels will be contending with a lot as we move through the coming months and years.

Take Charge Of Your Capital; You May Think That You Are, But This May Not Be The Case

By Gustav Bjoern

An essay on the importance of trust and communication, during these days of COVID-19. As you're reading this, regardless of where in the capital stack you sit, you probably have a stronger than usual desire to know exactly what's going on with the underlying asset, the cash flow, the promised CapEx program, the debt covenant compliance, and how badly you mispriced your risk (you're not alone).

The Importance of Revenue Management in Times of Uncertainty

By Crystal Pernici

There's no doubt we are experiencing one of the greatest challenges of our professional (and, in many cases, personal) lives. This pandemic has rattled our world—especially travel and hospitality. Now it's time for the hotel industry to pull itself up by its bootstraps and show the world what we are made of.

Introducing "Generation Clean" – The New Age of Hotel Guests

By Tim Pelletier

While global travel markets continue to wrestle with the implications of COVID-19, one thing is becoming increasingly clear - the crisis will have a deep and lasting impact on the industry. How the industry evolves to address the situation and future-proof their marketing, distribution, and hotel management strategies remains to be seen.

Tech Companies Helping Hotels in Times of Need

By Larry Mogelonsky

With the hospitality industry left spinning in the wake of the COVID-19 lockdowns, it is hardly the time to throw in the towel. Rather, and not to soften the severity of the crisis in any way or form, this is an opportunity to realign your hotel organization so that it can thrive on a lean team once the travel restrictions are relaxed.

The BC and AC of Hoteliering

By Natwar Nagar

The world has suddenly changed. Like most sectors, the global hospitality industry is in shock and dismay watching a pandemic wipe out the dreams of millions. This unprecedented event, whose consequences we cannot yet imagine, has left us speculating about its financial, economic, social and political cost.

Plotting (literally) the comeback

By Dan Skodol

Hotels in North America and around the world are starting to look ahead to reopening their doors to guests. As we speak, from the smallest independent boutiques to the largest global chains, properties are formulating strategies for operations, marketing, revenue management, and many other areas in the context of a post-COVID-19 environment.

The Impact Of COVID-19 In The Hotel Industry – Brazil Overview

By Felipe Touro

In view of the advancing Coronavirus over the past few days, the economic impact starts to deepen and takes bigger steps around the world, mainly reflected by issues due to the drop in consumption and production, the stock market and supply chains, and this serves as a wake-up call for all the world even for those powerful countries in the European Union as a possible economic recession is looming.

Revenue Management In Recovery: 7 Trends To Track

By Alex Sogno

Our industry is currently at a standstill. There is no previous precedent, no historical data to refer to. Revenue Management (RM) systems do not have reliable data to process: they will not work. Most of your positions as Revenue Managers probably did not exist yet during the 2008 Financial Crisis.

Responsible Tourism Is Key To Driving Travel Industry Recovery In A Post-Lockdown World

By Jane Madden

Last week, I had the pleasure of speaking at the Finn Partners Travel Practice webinar on the role of responsible tourism in driving recovery post-lockdown. I was joined by Fiona Jeffery OBE, Senior Partner, Finn Partners Global Responsibility Tourism Practice, Founder and Chairman of Just A Drop, alongside Amy Skelding, Senior Partner in our Travel Practice who moderated the session.

Time for the Hotel Industry to “Remove the Box”

By Hanley Chew

The hotel industry is one of the worst-hit industries during this crisis. A lot of studies have been conducted to help us understand the impact on the economy and our organization's bottom-line. Industry experts, through their various associations, have predicted that the average hotel occupancy in Malaysia for the year will stand at around 25% or less.

Hotel Performance Forecast 2020-2024

By Hala Matar Choufany

The increasing concern over the post COVID-19 implications on the travel and tourism sector coupled with a challenging economic outlook for the GCC region will have a major impact on the recovery of the hotel sector.

Will Ancillary Revenues become Primary Revenues in the COVID Era?

By Ajay Mehtani

HVS ANAROCK spoke about ancillary revenues in early 2019 and the concept of focusing on Revenue Per Square Feet at our HOPE conference again in Bengaluru in August last year - thus, initiating a dialogue with the industry on the concepts of Total Revenue Management.

HVS: COVID-19 Impact on Hotels in Asia Pacific

The momentum in visitor arrivals has been lost due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. January 2020 kick off with robust visitor arrivals before registering an average decrease of approximately 35% and 65% across the region (Australia, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam) in February and March, respectively.

Coronavirus (and other problems): 2020, a dark year for global tourism

By Anne Gombault

The coronavirus health crisis, tracked statistically in real time by Johns Hopkins University, is hitting the global economy hard and the tourism industry most of all. The World Tourism Organization (WTO) is expecting a drop in tourism revenue of 300 to 500 billion dollars in 2020, up to one-third of the 1,500 billion generated in 2019.

There’s Light at the End of the Tunnel: Implement Technology Today to Retain and Attract Top Talent Tomorrow

By Robb Monkman

Sometimes when things seem the darkest, moments of beauty emerge in the most unexpected places. During this time of quarantine, rivers are cleaning up, vegetation is growing, the air is becoming cleaner, there are fewer reports of crime, families are bonding, workers are resting, and nations are banding together for the good of mankind.

Hotel Industry 2020 – The New Normal

Welcome to the Twilight Zone or the surreal existence of those of us in hospitality with empty hotels. They are slowly and not so surely picking up but we will return to a "new normal" soon. What will it look like? The "light and warmth of hospitality," coined by Conrad Hilton, will not be apparent upon entrance to a hotel post COVID-19.

HVS: Impact of COVID-19 in Italy

After the initial actions taken during February 2020 to contain the expansion of COVID-19, which provided limitations and restrictions only to certain activities and areas of the country (closing direct flights with China, prohibition of big gatherings and sport events, creation of red zones at Province and Regional level in North Italy), the Italian Government issued a Law Decree on 11 March providing for a shutdown of many activities and several limitations to other activities across the entire Italian territory.

Hospitality Financial Leadership – What Will the Post Pandemic Hotel World Look Like?

By David Lund

Having been around awhile I have seen the changes that have come as a result of major global events. The starkest example is our pre- and post-911 world. It showed us that the idea of getting on an airplane means we need to prove we do not have any threatening objects with us, like guns, knives and explosives and we need to prove we are who we say we are.

The Gift of Resetting and New Beginnings

By Luis Gallotti

Imagine a game that never ends. Imagine a workday that never finishes. Imagine a train that never stops. That's how we have been living. No doubt that today's situation brings a lot of anxiety and uncertainty, but if we are able to take a more holistic approach to this whole new reality, soon enough we would realize that it's a new beginning physically, mentally and spiritually for all of us.

Coronavirus Boosts Innovation in the Beer Industry

By Margarita Cruz

It's Friday evening and virtually everyone in the whole country is at home. On a regular Friday, people would go out, meet friends, drink beer and celebrate the weekend. Not today thanks to coronavirus.

Staying Ahead Through Change

By Vijay Thacker

The standstill enforced by the COVID-19 pandemic gives hotels the opportunities to move towards changes that will arise when hotels re-open. New learnings must be imbibed and actions purposefully directed.

Hospitality Industry Top Winners and Losers in the Post-Crisis Era

By Max Starkov

Here are the big winners as a result of the current coronavirus crisis: Major Hotel Chains: Hospitality has been moving from an industry of independent hotels to an industry dominated by major hotel chains for at least two decades now.

What is Your Business 2.0

By Keith Kefgen

The government has effectively shut down the hospitality and travel industries. Yes, this will end, and no, it won't go back to 'normal'. What will the new normal look like? I have heard all kinds of predictions from a V-shaped recovery to social revolution; a wide spectrum to say the least.

HVS COVID-19: Traveller and Hotel Guest Sentiment Findings Middle East

By Hala Matar Choufany

The current pandemic and unprecedented difficult times have so far dramatically impacted our lifestyle, be it how we work, travel, socialize, meet and greet, connect, etc. and it is only fair to assume that these forceful effects will remodel our behavior and attitude in the midterm and potentially forever.

How To Lie With COVID-19

By Simone Puorto

"The death rate in the Navy during Spanish-American War," writes Darrell Huff in his classic, How to Lie with Statistics, "was nine per thousand. For civilians in New York City during the same period, it was sixteen per thousand.

A Reason To Smile During The COVID-19 Pandemic

By Shep Hyken

I'm going to switch up my typical customer service and experience content to share a little motivation. My buddy and fellow professional keynote speaker, Joey Coleman, is one smart dude. He made a great observation about the way people are reacting to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Always look on the bright side

By Jane Pendlebury

Thank goodness we are an industry of positive people. Despite the doom and gloom, most people that contact the HOSPA office remain upbeat, trying to find their way through the uncertainty. The only certainty we do have is that the outlook will change daily and the Government will direct us based on facts and figures, which also change daily.

An Updated 2020 Outlook - Expectations for the Year Ahead

By Jamie Lane

Economic conditions are deteriorating quickly and according to Oxford Economics, theU.S. economy is in recession. Oxford predicts that, "the coronavirus pandemic will lead to a profound, pervasive, and persistent, but not permanent reductions in activity, with widespread cuts in social spending, severe disruptions to supply chains, and major interruptions in travel and tourism activity.

Mental Wellness and Today’s New Workplace Norms

By Thomas Mielke

'Mental wellness' is a broad topic that involves our emotional, psychological, and social functioning. In what is a reflection of the fast-paced and high-pressure environments that we nowadays live in, it has increasingly topped the management agenda of many boards and HR executives across the globe.

Hospitality Sector Should Prepare for an Extended Stay from COVID-19

By Deborah Friedland

"The impact to our industry is already more severe than anything we've seen before, including September 11th and the Great Recession of 2008 combined." A chilling statement from Chip Rogers, President of the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) on March 17—just as COVID-19 was starting to unleash its global fury.

People Management During COVID-19

By Alex Sogno

An industry of people taking care of people; Ladies and Gentlemen Serving Ladies and Gentlemen; People, Product and Profit. Whichever way you phrase it, people are at the core of hospitality. As a service-focused industry, our product is inseparable from the person delivering it.

The Future State of Hospitality after COVID-19: A New Psychology of ‘Enchantment’

By James Houran

These introductory quotes show that great minds in science and literature have historically recognized the fundamental need for enchantment in people's lives. Just think back to your own remarkable encounters with art, music, nature, and even special people like 'first loves', childhood heroes, or favourite celebrities.

COVID-19 “The Hefty Guest”

By Hala Matar Choufany

And… Suddenly, while we were projecting growth in the MEA region and applauding the ongoing efforts of governments in developing further the tourism infrastructure, improving accessibility, attracting local and foreign investments and easing off travel restrictions, we wake up to a new reality, a serious and destructive threat, and a force that is beyond imagination that will shape our future.

A Post-Coronavirus Scenario for Travel and Hospitality: Where We Might be Going

By Woody Wade

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen. Welcome to the Industry Leaders Panel here at the 2023 Berlin Conference. [Squints out across the room.] I see that several dozen of you have physically made it to Berlin this year - thanks for your courage! We also have over 4,000 delegates participating on Zoom, an amazing shift in the way this conference is held compared to five years ago.

Credit Card Processing Best Practices During COVID-19 and Other Challenging Times

By Juli Barter

As the world continues to navigate the COVID-19 pandemic, the hotel industry continues to feel its effects. As a trusted hospitality payments provider, POST Integrations is providing the following credit card acceptance best practices to help guide you and your properties through these uncertain times.

What Is the Impact of COVID-19 on Entrepreneurship?

By Marie-France Derderian

In the face of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, Entrepreneurs have to face a new reality: that it is not only a huge sanitary and health crisis affecting million or even billion people in all over the world.

How hotels will need to adapt Duty of Care policies for the coronavirus pandemic

By Nancy Huang

Duty of Care, which for hotels is the legal obligation to ensure the safety or well-being of its guests, has always been an important aspect for hotel operations. Though many hotels are currently closed due to the coronavirus pandemic, many hoteliers are already concerned with how they will need to exercise Duty of Care once they reopen.

The Sustainability of Hotels Post-COVID-19

By Korosh Farazad

A couple of months ago, we never could have thought that the global economy and subsequently the world would have come to a pause. The COVID-19 pandemic and the associated restrictions on business activity and travel have caused a tremendous impact across all market industries and especially in the hospitality industry.

What Can We Expect From The Luxury Market After COVID-19?

By Barbara Czyzewska

The COVID-19 crisis is the kind of situation that our world has never experienced before. Not only has it turned into a global pandemic but, more importantly from consumer behaviour point of view, it has impacted individuals from all walks of life and all social and economic statuses.

HVS Hotel Transaction Activity: The Factors Influencing a Return to Normalcy in a Post-COVID-19 Time

By Drew Noecker

As a result of the current COVID-19 pandemic, the HVS Team has received many questions about when U.S. hotel transaction volume will return to reasonable, pre-pandemic levels. While we do not have a definite answer, as these circumstances are evolving daily, we have tried to use past events to provide some insight on the factors that would affect a possible rebound.

What is the Impact of COVID-19 on Global Economy?

By Emmanuel Jurczenko

The current coronavirus situation is profoundly impacting all types of businesses. With temporary cessation of some businesses and activities slowing down for many, the consequences of the pandemic are even worse for the global economy than the ones following the Great Financial Crisis in 2007-2008.

Hotel Closures Due to COVID-19: What to Consider

The hospitality industry is being devastated by the impact of the coronavirus outbreak. As social distancing is becoming the new normal, airlines cancel flights and state and local governments impose travel restrictions and institute quarantines, many hotels are dealing with unprecedented turmoil and are confronting a decision that was unthinkable just a few weeks ago - whether to shut down.

5 Questions a Good Manager Should Ask Him/Herself While Managing a Team Remotely

By Lucile Muller

As a result of the COVID-19 outbreak, companies and universities around the world have suddenly been forced to adopt home office measures for their employees wherever possible. It is true that over the last decades, the digitalization of our economies has made virtual work environment possible but realistically-speaking, only a few companies have been actively promoting it among their employees.

Hotel Sales Teams: Use Downtime To Up Your Game At Using Screen Share, Video Email, Webcam Sales

By Doug Kennedy

Based on the conversations I'm having this week with our KTN clients, it seems that hotel sales teams are finding that there's a lull in activity right now. The flood of calls and emails regarding cancellations and postponements has abated, and most hotels are lucky to have even a trickle of RFP's coming in from traditional channels.

Hotel Operations in the COVID Era

Social distancing has become a norm in today's COVID-19 world and hotels need to re-evaluate and update their SOPs to adapt to this change.HVS has prepared this document to help hoteliers in the planning process regarding the formulation of SOPs on how to operate their hotels once the lockdown has been lifted.

Examining changes in RevPAR, profit in past recessions

By Robert Mandelbaum

CBRE Hotels Research was projecting a 1.1% increase in revenue per available room for the year. Even with this low level of revenue growth, there were certain factors that could have sustained—or at least cushioned the blow of minimal declines—the nine-year trend of profit growth for U.

The Impacts of COVID-19 on the Global Wine Industry

By Réza Nahaboo

Since the beginning of the spread of the virus, all industries worldwide have been heavily affected. It has consequently left its impact on the wine market which has started to deteriorate at the announcement of the cancellation of some major local, national or international events.

Back to Business as Usual?

By Jason Lee

Lately, I have read so many articles on what to do when this is all over. They offer suggestions on what to do now to prepare for when the business comes back. At a certain point in an extraordinary event such as COVID-19, we need to change our focus.

How Travel Companies Can Remain Resilient During the COVID-19 Crisis

By Dan Lubetsky

The Coronavirus is having a dramatic effect on every aspect of our lives, presenting a once-in-a-generation test of business continuity and planning. The travel industry is experiencing particularly challenging times, but it's important to remember that someday, hopefully soon, people will start to travel again.

The Curve Has Flattened; What Does the “Interim Normal” Mean for Hotel Operations?

By Karen Johnson

Though the arc of people with confirmed cases of COVID-19 is going up as more individuals are tested, the curve of the average daily death toll appears to have flattened. This indicates that the act of social distancing will keep our ICU capacity from being overwhelmed as it was in Hunan and Italy.

Coronavirus Crisis Communication: a Wicked Problem

By Laura Zizka

In the workplace, we often face problems. They could derive from suppliers, employees, managers or customers. This is particularly evident in the hospitality industry where every day is met with new problems which we often refer to as challenges.

The Impact of COVID-19 on Hotel Values

The COVID-19 pandemic and the related restrictions on travel, business activity, and individual movement are having an unprecedented impact on our industry and economy. Hotel owners, operators, lenders, and investors are all facing greater challenges than ever anticipated, as they grapple with plummeting occupancy, average rate (ADR), and RevPAR and seek solutions to mitigate the impact on EBITDA.

In A Quarantined World Local Leisure Reigns

By Larry Mogelonsky

Travel advisories have been issued, quarantines are in effect, shows have been canceled and long-haul trips have been delayed. Whether you believe the fallout from the coronavirus to be an actual pandemic or largely media-driven panic, the fact remains that the world economic engine has spasmed, with dire consequences for every hotel's operating budget for the rest of the calendar year.

Open or closed, think local

By Nicki Graham

Never before have we seen such a sense of community across the globe. This real sense of coming together and selflessness has been overwhelming. Mainly because, for the first time in living memory, we are all in the same situation.

Revenue Management Needs to Go Beyond Pricing

By Gabor Forgacs

This abrupt halt in travel caused by the current pandemic is not going to last forever but it will last long enough to shake the foundations of the global accommodation industry. The unprecedented loss of revenue will not return instantly to pre-pandemic levels to hotels.

What is the Impact of COVID-19 on Sustainability?

By Dimitrios Diamantis

Sustainability as a concept has been in a turmoil over the last 35 years. Since the World Commission on Environment and Development Report, commonly known as Brundland Report in 1987, sustainability has been advancing as a concept of developmental strategies in a number of destinations and organizations.

Hotel Investing in the Uncertain Pandemic Climate

By Ahmed Kabani

As we commence a new quarter in 2020, facing heavy headwinds in the face of the new decade, it is more important than ever to develop a plan to work through this pandemic. There is still so much uncertainty, yet it is our responsibility as business professionals to develop a plan to prepare ourselves for the worst-case scenario.

An Invasion of Business Like Never Before

The Indian hospitality sector is perhaps undergoing one of its worst-ever crises in living memory and is putting every effort to deal with this unprecedented invasion.Based on our discussions with key industry stakeholders, we understand that as of 30th of March 2020, 57% of 787 branded hotels in the country have become non-operational, a never before event in the history of the Indian hotel industry.

Three Revenue strategies for a New Normal

By Ally Northfield

One way to break down the top three revenue strategies is to look at what you need to be doing now, what scenarios you need to plan for in the short term, and then extrapolating how these scenarios may then impact the mid and longer term, on the understanding that there will never be a specific end date on this, and many new factors we need to come to terms with.

COVID-19 Impact in Hospitality Financing and the Current Climate for Borrower’s and Lender’s in the Hotel Industry

By Korosh Farazad

Due to the recent unprecedented event, the hospitality industry along with all other industries around the world has been damaged by COVID-19. Which results in a world economic crisis with domestic & international travels rapidly slowing, occupancy falling and hotels closing.

Cleanliness Theater for the Post-Pandemic World

By Larry Mogelonsky

This too shall pass. However bad the COVID-19 situation gets that we are currently in the midst of fighting, business will eventually return to normal, hopefully sooner rather than later. But the fear instilled in people's minds from this panic will linger for long after the all clear is given as part of a collective post-pandemic social anxiety.

Make Every Interaction Count – The Power of Brand Loyalty

By Mohamed Khanat

If we've learned anything in the past few months, it is that unexpected things can happen to anyone at any time. No one is immune to system failures, economic recessions or indeed—global pandemics. My prediction for the coming months and years is that survival and success will ultimately be determined not by what has happened to us, but rather by how we respond.

Recovery from COVID-19 in Spain

By Sophie Perret

Half of all global tourism arrivals historically come to Europe; and, within Europe, Spain enjoys a disproportionate share of this visitation, with more than 80 million visiting the country yearly. Whilst the COVID-19 pandemic ravages Europe and takes a particularly heavy toll in Spain, it is important to evaluate how the reliance of this country on international visitation might shape the recovery of its two main urban markets once the pandemic subsides.

How to Make Working From Home Work for you

By Beatrice Venturini

In his 2017 TED Talk, the British economist Nicholas Bloom jokes of how his mission to encourage working from home (WFH) was initially met with disparaging remarks like "shirking from home", "working…remotely" or simply, "getting paid for not getting dressed".

How Coronavirus Is Affecting The Wine Industry

By Olivier Staub

As the Coronavirus has continued to spread rapidly, the full scale of the risk to the global economy has hit markets with rarely seen violence: the speed of the sell-off in equities and "risky" asset classes has only been matched by the rise in price of safe haven assets such as US government bonds or Gold.

COVID-19: Impact on the Indian Hotels Sector

The world is still coming to terms with the COVID-19 outbreak and there is no doubt that the pandemic will change the world as we know it. With the globalized world going into partial or complete shutdown, the overall impact on human life, economic growth and businesses is immeasurable, both in the short term and long term due to the uncertainty as things evolve.

U.S. Hotels Changes in RevPAR and Profits During Historical Recessions

By Robert Mandelbaum

The U.S. lodging industry was prepared for a slowdown in performance entering 2020. CBRE Hotels Research was projecting a 1.1 percent increase in RevPAR for the year. Even with this low level of revenue growth, there were certain factors that could have sustained - or at least cushioned the blow of minimal declines ­- the nine-year trend of profit growth for U.

Now is the Worst Time for Hoteliers to Stop Selling

By Greg Johnson

We are all dealing with a crisis that is unprecedented, causing us to rethink the way we tackle our everyday jobs and how people are traveling. This is causing our hotels to run with a skeleton crew, all sharing in the responsibilities of the various tasks needing to be done.

The COVID Crisis Highlights the Need for Hotel Call Centers

By Larry Mogelonsky

The virus outbreak starting in Wuhan is the gamechanger for 2020 and many years to come. Reservations and occupancies will inevitably return, but the ground has forever shifted and this new normal we are just entering calls for new working - and largely virtual - conditions as well as a hyper-effective team to handle the load in lean times.

COVID-19 Hotel Resource Guide

By Ahmed Kabani

Given the uncertain times that we are in, we at Kabani Hotel Group have compiled a guide for hoteliers, to cope with the current state of the hospitality market.

Boston & Cambridge Lodging Market: Coronavirus Causing Steep Demand Declines, Closures, Layoffs

By Sebastian Colella

As travel across the country and the world has all but stopped the last few weeks from the threat of COVID19, hotels across the country saw an unprecedented amount of cancellations. The Boston lodging market has been one the hardest hit markets in the United States with demand declining dramatically throughout most of March.

Hospitality Industry Steps Up to Fight COVID-19

By Richard Bradbury

Unprecedented. A word we seem to read in every story since the novel coronavirus turned our lives upside down. There are children out of school, employees working remote, and families barred together by nothing but their front doors and the possibility of what's outside them.

Team Spirit: 3 Tips For Working In A Remote Team

By Sandra Lastra

Due to the Coronavirus crisis, millions of us are now working from home for the forseeable future. In case you are not used to it, let me share some tips that work for my fully-remote team, with members spread across different time zones and geographies.

Plan for What Is Coming

By John Ragsdale Hendrie

Well, we really do not know what that is or what it will look like, but change is inevitable, shifting, declarative, sneaking and lasting in many cases. And, you, as the Brand architect, must prepare, react and manage the current disruption and ultimate reentry into the marketplace.

What a Sparkplug Teaches about Hotel Operations During a Crisis

By Greg Johnson

We are seeing occupancies declining, groups canceling and jobs being lost. It is easy for hoteliers to get caught up in the vortex of panic and depression. Up until now, many sales leaders have assumed the role of the hotel sparkplug, filled with energy and optimism to cast an uplifting aura throughout the back of the house.

The adoption of a long-term perspective in a time of crisis: Why now is not the time to let your marketing and communications go dark

By Alan Young

It's been just over a week since the World Health Organization declared the coronavirus, or COVID-19, a global pandemic. Since then, the information surrounding the continued transmission of the virus has evolved at a rapid pace, taking business owners and employees across industries for a wild, and notably scary ride.

How is coronavirus impacting hotel booking lead times?

By Rob Funnell

Despite the global increase in nationwide lockdowns and inbound travel restrictions, some demand for hotel rooms still remains. And while there is no sugar-coating the fact that hotels in almost every country have suffered a steep drop in occupancy due to COVID-19, it is crucial that hotels keep focusing on the pockets of opportunity that present themselves.

How To Protect Your Business From The Coronavirus Epidemic

By Yelyzaveta Horbenko

The hospitality industry is particularly affected by the coronavirus epidemic. The number of reservations is rapidly going down, some hotels are forced by law to close temporarily. However, some positive prognosis says that this situation is temporary and will last several weeks, as far as all measures have been taken.

Expert Insights on Hospitality Practices During COVID-19

By Robert Reitknecht

No industry is exempt from the distress caused by the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19). As advice from global health organizations and governments evolves on an hourly basis, particularly regarding travel bans and gathering restrictions, hospitality organizations are among the first to feel the impact of large-scale quarantine.

Standard Stands Together

By Amar Lalvani

Yesterday was a sad day. We made the unavoidable decision to close our two New York City hotels, The Standard High Line and The Standard East Village, The Standard Miami and our first international hotel, The Standard London.

The Importance of Financial Relief for the Hotel Industry

By Anne Lloyd-Jones

The coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is having a profound impact on the hospitality industry, as travel restrictions, limits on large gatherings, the closure of restaurants and bars and, perhaps most influential, fear of the virus, have brought travel—and most other aspects of hospitality—to a virtual halt.

COVID-19 & Its Impact On The Indian Hotel Industry

By Achin Khanna

As COVID-19 continues to unfold, industries, sectors and organizations everywhere are making feverish attempts to find ways and means to handle the challenges that stare us all in the face. While it is evident that no single enterprise can remain immune to the bleeding, some industries have the unfortunate disadvantage of being bruised in the jugular.

Why Distributed Teams Make More Sense Now Than Ever

By Greg Abbott

The rate of change and the standard way of doing things, whether that's conducting business, taking care of our families, or simply getting around our cities, is being turned upside down. As the coronavirus (Covid-19) continues to spread around the world, the economic symptoms are emerging.

Hospitality in a Downturn – An Emergency Toolkit

By James Lemon

The hospitality industry is undertaking unprecedented levels of crisis management in response to the coronavirus outbreak. For some hotels, sadly, it is just about managing the worst outcomes including closing the doors, letting some of the team go, and working with suppliers and financiers to manage cash.

COVID-19 Financing Strategic Options For Hotel Owners

By Harry George Spirides

Along with all the other industries around the world the U.S. hotel industry has been blindsided by the COVID-19 Global Pandemic Black Swan Event. Instantly, hotel owners have found themselves with empty hotels, depleted cash reserves, and wondering how they will be able to make their monthly mortgage payments and payroll which were hardly ever considered to be a problem in the expansionary period leading up to COVID-19.

Chinese Tourism at a Difficult Time

By Dr. Yong Chen

The global tourism industry could not have been hurt so badly any time in history other than the year 2019−20. The tourism industry involves temporary displacement of people from one place to another, whereby demand is generated.

Resilience In A Time Of Crisis

By Miki Gulati

The novel coronavirus has impacted the global world community in unprecedented ways. The hospitality and travel industry have perhaps been the most hard-hit than others. Hourly workers are the heartbeat of hospitality and potentially facing devastating hardships.

How Hoteliers Can Get Over the Coronavirus

By David Eisen

COVID-19 is putting an end to 11 years of unprecedented growth in the hotel industry. There is no sugarcoating it: the coronavirus has induced panic across the globe, throwing markets into chaos, postponing conferences, stamping out travel and emptying drugstore shelves.

The First Rule of Coronavirus: Don’t Panic

By Timothy R. Wiersma

Coronavirus may seem like it's come out of nowhere, but hospitality revenue optimization professionals have been here before. From Sept. 11 to SARS to one hurricane season after another, they have not just survived plenty of crisis events but thrived in the aftermath.

Twelve Strategies For Managing Hotels In Time Of Crisis

By Alex Sogno

The Coronavirus epidemic seems to be at a turning point in terms of spread as we speak, yet it is difficult to know its true impact on the economy. At this stage, it has a very tangible impact on hotels: a drop in booking pace, increased room cancellations, many events been postponed at best, and soon, pressure from third-party capital (banks / lenders).

The Coronavirus Effect: Impact On U.S. Travel Market

By Dillon Lockett

In our previous post, we examined the impact of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) on metasearch traffic across APAC, witnessing a sharp decline beginning in mid-January, before ultimately tumbling into a freefall by the end of February, when decreases were as high as 80% year-over-year.

Strategic Coronavirus Operational Planning

By Larry Mogelonsky

The news regarding this virus is omnipresent. It has impacted travel throughout the world, for which nearly every hotel will feel the effect. Stemming from numerous emergency planning sessions for the properties we manage through our consultancy, below is the rough preamble of what we have proscribed to help hoteliers get through this global ordeal.

Why Massive Global Events are a Catalyst for Change

By Alan Young

Uncertain times are a catalyst for change, especially within the hospitality industry. Hospitality, after all, has always held a somewhat notorious reputation for being reluctant to change. While other sectors are, by nature, more malleable to new-edge advancements and best practices, our industry often takes its time, testing the waters long before making the commitment to dive in.

Reviewing Employee and Guest Safety in the Wake of Coronavirus

By Larry Mogelonsky

Just what you want to read, yet another article in the wake of the ongoing COVID-19 story clamoring on about the bleak short-term travel outlook and fueling stock market downturns worldwide. Regardless of any statistics about its contagiousness or lethality, the fact remains that it is shutting down flights, cruises, and the global flow of commercial goods.

Tourism Tidbits: Tourism Confronts the Coronavirus

By Peter Tarlow

Only a few short months ago, the world first heard about a possibly new and deadly virus called the Coronavirus (CoVid-19). In these last few months what at first appeared to be a few isolated cases of an unknown form of influenza in a faraway province of China has now turned into a worldwide pandemic that threatens not only human life and wellbeing but also major portions of the tourism industry and economies around the world.

How to navigate coronavirus disruption in travel

By Gino Engels

The coronavirus is an ongoing tragedy for those worst affected, and everyone's focus should be on containing it. However, it's also wreaking havoc on the global travel industry, and it's sensible to look for ways to navigate the crisis and mitigate some of the negative commercial impact in the year ahead.

Coronavirus survival tips for hotels

By Sheryl Kimes

How should hotels respond to the current coronavirus situation? Occupancies are down, mass gatherings have been canceled and tourist arrivals have dropped. I decided to go back and look at some of my previous research to get some tips on how to deal with this.

COVID-19 - Tips for Hotel Managers

As we prepare for the potential spread of the COVID-19 virus, there are some precautions hotel managers and staff can take to improve guest and employee health and safety. Early evidence suggests that the virus that causes COVID-19 can spread more easily than the virus that causes seasonal influenza, and it appears that the COVID-19 disease is more deadly than seasonal influenza.

COVID-19 Coronavirus As Force Majeure Contract Defense — History And Origins

By Mark Adams

One often doesn't know the extent of one's insurance coverage until a calamity occurs. So it is with force majeure provisions in contracts. Typically, force majeure provisions are included in contracts to excuse a party from contractual obligations if some unforeseen event beyond its control prevents performance of its contractual obligations.

Update Corona Impact on Website vs OTA Bookings

By Ullrich Kastner

Over the last 24 hours we digged a bit deeper into the Corona Impact. This time with our partner Hotelnetsolutions from Berlin, who provide over 2000 Hotels predominantly in der German speaking areas and we work together for over 6 years on all online marketing aspects like Google, trivago and tripadvisor.

COVID-19 is a Hotel Crisis with a Digital Marketing Offshoot

By Larry Mogelonsky

This blog is being written as the China-originating outbreak is showing some signs of slowing down in that mother country but ramping up worldwide. Living through the 2003 SARS epidemic in my hometown of Toronto, this current crisis is already echoing the pattern of huge occupancy drops while air travel has already been decimated.

It's a Swan: The Highly Improbable Impact of Coronavirus

By Simone Puorto

"We are the healthiest, wealthiest, and longest-lived people in history. And we are increasingly afraid. This is one of the great paradoxes of our time." These wise words are not mine, but Daniel Gardner's, author of one book everyone should read, especially during these crazy days: Risk: The Science and Politics of Fear.

Forecasting and adapting to the impact of Coronavirus (Covid-19)

By Aymeric Erulin

All revenue managers around Europe have been in the past days working on their new forecast for the coming month. How, with so little data and the speed at which groups and transient cancelled, can they make an accurate guess of what the month of March and April are going to look like? For sure having a forecast accuracy of 2% will be hardly doable for those months, but they can come up with a maximum-achievable revenue and more importantly focus on long-term actions.

Why Fear is Worse Than The Virus

By Frederic Gonzalo

Others will inform you better about the most recent stats for how many countries and people are infected by Covid-19, the fatality rate and death toll so far. By the time I'd write it here and the time you'd read it, these stats would have changed anyway.

COVID-19 and the European hotel sector

By Russell Kett

Consultants are always expected to make predictions and to prepare forecasts, so I do not intend to disappoint you with this bulletin. I predict that, by the time you open this email, something will have happened to ensure that you determine that at least one point I am writing about now is judged to be wrong.

Coronavirus Won’t Stop Hotel Technology

By James Harrison

As I sit here on March 1st 2020, writing this article, we are in the middle of a global pandemic. If you’re reading this shortly after I issued it, you’ll know that pandemic is the Coronavirus. If you’ve found this in an archive somewhere, years down the line, you either have much more insight than me at the time of writing, or have completely forgotten about this event.

Coronavirus Crisis Management: Market Research vs. Steady Leadership

By Thomas Mielke

The Financial Times this weekend reported on the trillions of dollars that have been wiped out thus far due to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak. According to the newspaper, stocks in hospitality companies have been particularly hit, having fallen by a reported 19% in Europe compared to last week - one of the strongest declines for the sector since the terror attacks of 9/11.

Does Your Property Have A Coronavirus Strategy?

By Max Starkov

The coronavirus, though unprecedented in scale, is not the first global crisis to hit hard the hospitality industry. What should hoteliers do in dire times like the one we are experiencing right now? It is time for "Crisis Management 101".

Hotels in crisis can still win: How to adjust strategies without jeopardizing your future

By Alisa Voitika

The rise of Chinese travel in the last two decades means that the proportion of travelers affected by the COVID-19 coronavirus outbreak has surpassed the 2003 SARS health crisis. But the hospitality industry has been through crises before - and proved that hotels that made smart strategic decisions can come out winners in the long-term.

Coronavirus: What Impact on the Swiss Hotel Industry

By Giuliano Bianchi

A novel coronavirus (formally known as 2019-nCoV) has sprung up over the last few weeks, with its epidemic center in Wuhan, the capital of Hubei province (China). Little is known about this virus, but we do know that has an incubation period of 2 to 14 days and a mortality rate of 2.

Coronavirus Impacts Hospitality Across Asia

By Manav Thadani

The hospitality industry, much like other affiliated businesses (airline and cruises), is generally the first to get impacted by any global catastrophe and the last to recover. We have seen this time and again - be it natural or man-made disasters, trade wars, economic recessions, health emergencies, or travel advisories by the political class across the globe who use them as an effective tool in convincing their own public that they have acted responsibly and done their job.

View all content
Advertisements