Hot Topic
Topic

Opinion Articles – Coronavirus: Impact on the Hospitality Industry

share this hot topic
Coronavirus: Impact on the Hospitality Industry

All eyes are on the spreading coronvirus, COVID-19. Here you can follow the development and the impact of the coronavirus on the Hospitality Industry. Visit the WHO | World Health Organization for more information about the virus.

Click here to contribute your content | Stay up-to-date subscribe to our newsletter.

You are currently browsing a filtered list, click here for all content.

In the Battle for Recovery, Choice is KING!

By Michael Heflin

Although we appear to be moving past the worst of the COVID-19 pandemic, the hospitality market seems to be recovering by fits and starts. By July 2021 for example, Daily TSA Passenger Throughput 一 a common proxy to measure travel volume 一 reached approximately 80% of pre-pandemic levels.

The hotel stay of the past has checked out

By Richard Turen

Just when you think you've heard it all, theror in this case, a great many potential wrinkles. Crisp new bedding may be a thing of the past, a memory associated with pre-pandemic times when housekeepers, often in crisp, white uniforms, would actually enter our hotel room twice a day.

Rising costs, staffing shortages and multi-speed recovery play havoc with the UK hotel sector

By Russell Kett

A lively Q&A session, moderated by HVS chairman Russell Kett, addressed factors likely to hamper recovery progress. ‘The challenge around financial forecasting particularly if you have London hotels, as well as the pace of the change – when will it come back and how will it come back,’ was a key issue for Arron Taggart of Cheyne Capital, with travel restrictions, lack of airlift and scarcity of MICE business highlighted by Jan-Willem Terlouw of Westmont Group.

The Lodging Conference – HVS Perspectives

By Rodney G. Clough

With nearly 2,000 registered, the Lodging Conference brought together members of the hospitality industry to discuss the recovery, challenges, and successes of the industry to date. The highlights of the event from those that attended from HVS are summarized here.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow the coronavirus developments, sign up for the Hospitality Net 360 Newsletter and get the latest stories delivered right to your inbox.

Low-Touch Hotels are Here to Stay

By Ross Beardsell

At the start of the pandemic, I implemented, when considered in retrospect, was an uncharacteristic experiment. For an entire day, I tried not to touch anything in a public space. After a few hours of what seemed like a long game of playground tag, I realised that it was impossible to shun much of our physical contact outside the home effectively.

Meetings: An Uncertain Future?

By Conor Kenny

People do not resist change, they resist loss. Loss of what is familiar, what they know and what does not frighten them. Losing that creates fear, fear of the unknown, fear of what could be and an unchosen, unseating of a daily norm.

The Future of Hotels Post-Pandemic

By Youri Sawerschel

Creative Supply founder Youri Sawerschel and Frame Magazine’s Tracey Ingram sit down for the first in a series on space and branding, bringing together insights from Sawerschel’s realm of brand strategy and brand design, and Ingram’s role as editor at large for one of the world’s leading interior-design publications.

Recovery of Business Travel – ‘Everybody Talks but Nobody Knows’

By Jack B. Corgel

The media, when communicating about the prospects for airlines, aircraft manufactures, the hotels, and vendors that serve these sectors report on the return of business travel to pre-pandemic levels. But nobody knows! It’s reasonable to estimate an upcoming business travel recovery with an abstraction from what occurred after prior recessions, especially the post-financial crisis period.

The Hospitality Recruits

By Sharad Kapur

Purple bands on LinkedIn have been a far better visual than the multiples of greens we witnessed in the recent past. While hospitality recruitment has taken a turn for the better, it is another story that the COVID era has upended the hospitality talent landscape completely.

Hotels must cease the dangerous trend of hygiene theater

By Dr Lisa Ackerley

At a time when many Americans are patronizing hotels for the first time in almost 18 months – and cases of the Delta variant of SARS-CoV-2 are on the rise – hotels must cease the dangerous trend of ‘hygiene theater’ and adopt an effective, sustainable, cost-effective and risk-based approach to hygiene interventions.

HVS Monday Musings: Indian Restaurant Industry – Riding Out The COVID-19 Storm

The Indian restaurant industry has been on a roller coaster ride, with several lows and few highs since the onset of the pandemic. The strict lockdown regimes of the first and second pandemic waves in the country have had a severe and long-lasting impact on the dine-out culture, with industry associations estimating that 25-30% of the outlets have shut down in the last year.

The Employee Of Tomorrow?

By Vanguélis Panayotis

At a time when the recovery of our sector is raising many issues, we are facing our old demons: adding value to our industry and our professions. Today, more than 100,000 jobs remain vacant in French restaurants, hotels and other tourist properties.

ALIS Conference Perspectives

By Rodney G. Clough

The ALIS Conference came and went this week, bringing Downtown L.A. hotels to life with optimism and hope that normal for the hotel industry is coming in the not-too-distant future. Here are some collective takeaways from our team that was in attendance.

HSMAI Perspective: Helping Students Help You

By Robert A. Gilbert

A few months ago, I offered a cautionary outlook for the hospitality talent pipeline as the industry moves through recovery, noting that “hotel companies may not be sufficiently staffed with sales, marketing, and revenue professionals at the property and above-property levels to meet the return — now or in the years ahead.

Future-Proofing UK Hotels

By Malcolm Kerr

Malcolm Kerr, Managing Director of Horwath HTL UK has been talking to prominent executives and advisors to get their perspective on the major challenges facing owners and how they are preparing for an uncertain future.

The Inner Game: Hotels And The Post-Pandemic Wellness Opportunity

By Mariana Palmeiro

The global wellness economy, valued at $4.5 trillion, is rapidly outpacing the growth of the global economy, with ever-increasing demand attributed to several contributory factors. Aging populations, fast-paced lives and high-pressure jobs are resulting in an increase in chronic conditions, stress, depression and sleep problems.

COVID-19’s Impact On The Raleigh Hotel Market

By Janet L. Snyder

Prior to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, Raleigh was growing rapidly given its high quality of life and status as the state capital of North Carolina. The city has attracted large national and multinational corporations, such as Duke Energy, Citrix, Red Hat, Amazon, IBM, Accenture, and PNC.

Back To Work

By Iqbal Ahmed

The last year hasn't only altered our relationship with work. It has also changed our ideas about its intrinsic value. An eastern adage says that work is the best entertainment. This sentiment is echoed in western literature in The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905) in which the detective tells his sidekick, Dr Watson, that work is the best antidote to sorrow.

Mid-Year Update: Three Mega Wellness Trends for Mainstream Hospitality

By Susie Ellis

In 2020, the pandemic meant a near-complete brake on travel, and in our Global Wellness Summit trends report released in January, our trend the "Year of the Travel Reset" argued that this long travel pause gave both consumers and suppliers an unprecedented opportunity to think about rebooting travel for the better: to make it, in a word, more "well.

Research Reveals Effective Social Media Crisis Communication Strategies During COVID-19 Pandemic

By Linchi Kwok

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-generation crisis with lasting economic and societal consequences. Crises and disasters often bring unpredictable catastrophic changes to the market. Yet, effective management of a crisis can help businesses reduce the event's negative impacts and shorten the recovery time.

The Timeshare Industry's Road To Recovery

By Gary L Johnson

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the timeshare industry was significant; however, industry leaders are optimistic that the recovery is underway and that the recovery timeline may be relatively short.

HVS Monday Musings: Sri Lanka Tourism – The Post-war Growth Story

The island nation of Sri Lanka has emerged as one of the most sought-after tourist destinations in South Asia since the three-decade-long civil war in the country ended in 2009. The country, popularly known as the Pearl of the Indian Ocean due to its rich natural beauty and cultural heritage, offers tourists a plethora of experiences with multiple attractions ranging from pristine beaches, beautiful rainforests, tea plantations, wildlife parks, to historical sites, ancient ruins, temples and even casinos.

The New Realities of Hotel Sales and Marketing

By Robert A. Gilbert

We know that the pandemic has changed hospitality sales and marketing, but how? In ways that you've probably imagined and others that you might not have. Senior-level hospitality sales and marketing executives - from both brands and hotel management companies (HMCs) - who participated in HSMAI's recent series of Executive Roundtable programs discussed the trends, challenges, and priorities on their radar a full year into this industry-disrupting crisis.

Are we there yet?

By Arnie Weissmann

We are all that kid in the back seat, knowing we haven't arrived but unable to stop asking if we're there yet. Does the stream of border openings, cruise restarts and lifting of protocols, quarantine.

For Hotels, Restaurants A Cautionary Tale

By David Eisen

Vulnerability and loss of control are two of COVID-19’s biggest lessons. Unlike past threats, this one was unique in its ability to deliver damage under the guise of invisibility. It couldn’t be seen; it couldn’t be heard; it couldn’t be smelled; it couldn’t be touched.

Ideas with impact: What can hospitality organizations do to support employees and frontline staff?

By Nicole McQuiddy-Davis

In March 2021, Medallia, in collaboration with the School of Hotel Administration’s (SHA) Center for Hospitality Research, launched an online hospitality community to crowdsource ideas with impact. With the COVID-19 pandemic hitting travel and the hospitality industry especially hard, the community was conceived as a place for hospitality thought leaders, from industry professionals to SHA professors and alumni, to support each other with innovative ideas and solutions to the industry’s most pressing issues and challenges.

Extinction or Evolution? Three Hospitality Roles in Flux

By Mike Chuma

Hospitality work is one of the most enduring professions in human history, but it is not immune to the passage of time. Advancements in technology have made it easier for hotels to simplify operations, sharpen pricing strategies, and better know their customers.

Foodservice Management: Designing Solutions Through Diversified Perspectives (Marc Stierand)

By Marc Stierand

Foodservice is of increasing strategic importance as a differentiator for many hospitality businesses, and as a management subject it is core in all hospitality degrees. A crisis, like COVID-19, however, demands alterations to course content, because the effects of this and similar future crises are expected to have drastic and long-lasting effects.

Hospitality Management: What COVID-19 is teaching us about what needs to be taught

By Demian Hodari

Hospitality management education is an applied discipline; it not only applies general business theories and concepts to the hospitality industry (Morrison & O’Gorman, 2008), but it also builds theory from industry examples (Hsu, Xiao & Chen, 2017; Khan, 2019) and as a result provides pragmatic and practical learnings for university students and executive education participants.

Organizational Behavior: Thriving in a virtual workplace (Steffen Raub)

By Dr. Steffen Raub

Organizational behavior analyzes what people do in the workplace, and human beings - with their strengths and their weaknesses, their aspirations and their fears, their commonalities and specificities – as well as the factors that determine their behavior, will not change fundamentally in the very short term.

How Human Touch In Service Encounters Makes A Winning Customer Experience Strategy

By Sébastien Fernandez

This article focuses on the power of touch in service encounters. It is a timely topic as physical distances in restaurants have never been so important. In many countries, restaurants are closed. In other countries, tables in restaurants are kept separate at a significant distance, and service providers and customers wear masks.

HVS Market Pulse - Detroit

By Brandon Leversee

Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, Metro Detroit experienced a decade of revitalization and growth. However, with the onset of the worldwide pandemic, the lodging industry faced a downturn that was greater than the past two lodging-market declines combined.

How Hotels Are Rising Up After A No Good, Very Bad Year

By Linda Emmenegger

Doom. Gloom. The news is absolutely littered with stories of businesses and industries falling victim to the effects of COVID-19. But what if we – those of us in the hospitality industry who have experienced the pains of the pandemic – gave a different slant to the story? Perhaps a making lemons-out-of-lemonade focus on how solutions are available to us so we can operate high-performing and profitable hotels.

Cruise Lines As The Other Elephant In The Room For Hotels

By Larry Mogelonsky

As the hotel industry gradually morphs into the more-encompassing 'accommodations industry', we hoteliers still can't shake how much home sharing has changed our game. But these alternate accommodations aren't the only elephant that traditional hotel brands should fear, particularly in the aftermath of COVID-19 whereby cruise lines may relaunch with a bang.

COVID-19’s Impact On The Hampton Roads Lodging Market

By Chelsey Leffet

The Hampton Roads economy has long been supported by the federal government, the military, the aerospace industry, and the transportation and healthcare sectors. Lodging demand is also generated by tourism to the beaches and SMERFE-related transient and group travel.

Why Is Hotel Lending Stuck In Neutral?

By Emil Iskandar

Vaccine rollouts, an increase in local and regional non-air travel trends and higher transaction volumes are all positive news supporting an elevated degree of confidence for a market rebound. Multiple announcements made by large investment funds committing to substantial capital injections into the hospitality lending space will also provide a boost.

Pandemic practices we want to keep

By Arnie Weissmann

It has been noted that the pandemic accelerated existing trends that had previously advanced at a leisurely pace. Although there's much about the pandemic we want to leave behind, it's hard to ignore the innovations and incremental improvements to daily life that are byproducts of the Covid era.

Impact On Workers’ Compensation In Hospitality Due To Covid-19

By Thomas Cleary

Hospitality businesses need to understand how claims under Covid-19 will impact their business and their peer group. Any claims paid out will be recovered by the insurance companies paying the claims at some point by charging the specific business and the industry sector on a macro level.

Ramping Up Recovery Revenues With Integrated PMS Modules

By Larry Mogelonsky

We're in it for the long haul with COVID-19; vaccines are being approved and manufactured, but it will take quite some time for mass inoculation, and then there are these new variants to worry over. With this in mind, the anticipated recovery in Q3 2021 may not be a surge back to full occupancy - nor can it be given the ongoing physical distancing requirements.

California hotel workers laid off due to COVID-19 get rehire rights

As coronavirus cases drop and economic activity starts to return to normal, the hospitality industry will soon be able to begin replacing workers who were laid off due to the pandemic. Some cities in California, and now the entire state, have enacted requirements for how hotels and other businesses can fill open positions; my partner, Travis Gemoets, has summarized the new law below.

A Time For Reflection

By Vijay Thacker

Spring has sprung a spiked surprise, second year running. And sadly caught us napping again. Lockdowns abound, soaring hopes have been negated; frustration and despair are rising – in different measures and pressures, depending on a person's station in life, and business responsibility.

Will Hotels welcome International Travelers in 2021?

By Pedro Colaco

It's been just over a year since Covid-19 became a global pandemic in April 2021. Hotels are finally starting to see some signs of life reflected in hotel bookings. According to market research by Guestcentric and Great Hotels of the World, published in the 13th edition of the Hotelier PULSE Report, booked nights in March 2021 outgrew bookings in March 2020 by 14%.

COVID-19’s Impact on the Los Angeles Hotel Market

By Luigi Major

The Los Angeles hotel market, along with the rest of the world, experienced an unprecedented drop in demand in 2020 following the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. Hotel occupancy declined to 49% in 2020, compared to 80% in 2019, while average daily rate (ADR) decreased to $139 in 2020 from $181 the previous year.

Five Essentials For Present Day Hotel Operations

By Antoine Berberi

It has been one year since the historical COVID-19 pandemic made its debut, affecting the entire population and economies around the world. It is evident that out of all the industries negatively affected by this economic tsunami, the hospitality industry has been, and will most likely remain, the most impacted and the slowest to recover.

In Focus: Singapore

The Republic of Singapore is a metropolitan city-state and island country in Southeast Asia with a total land area of an estimated 714.3 square kilometres. It is situated at the southern tip of the Malayan Peninsula, between Malaysia and Indonesia.

Five Ways To Improve Service In Your Hotel

By Adam Knight

With everything that the past year has brought, it's completely expected (and normal) that a handful of basics have fallen off but as occupancy starts to pick up and basics aren't brought back in line quickly, your hotel could start to see more negative reviews than normal; and since overall reviews are down, it could be much harder to dig out of a slew of negative reviews, pushing you down the list and making it harder to grow your occupancy at the same (or better) rate than the market.

COVID-19’s Impact On The Albuquerque Lodging Market

By McKenna Luke

Amid a worldwide pandemic, the lodging industry is facing a downturn that is greater than the past two lodging-market declines combined. According to Visit Albuquerque, Albuquerque's RevPAR fell roughly 47% in 2020 from 2019 levels, driven primarily by occupancy losses of up to 33% compared to 2019 and ADR declines of up to 21%.

HVS Monday Musings: Medical Tourism In India

In the last decade, India has emerged as one of the leading medical tourism destinations globally. The presence of several high-quality, well-equipped healthcare facilities along with a strong base of highly skilled and specialized English-speaking medical professionals, offering world-class treatments at much more affordable costs compared to developed nations are some of the reasons for the growth of this segment in India.

2020 European Hotel Transactions

By Shaffer Patrick

Total European hotel transaction volume reached €8.5 billion[1] in 2020, representing a fall of 69% on 2019 (see Chart 1), which was the previous market peak at €27.1 billion. Even so, 2020 figures remain significantly ahead of those seen in the Global Financial Crisis, with 2009 seeing only €3.

Rediscovering London

By Iqbal Ahmed

Visiting London ranks high on the wish-list of many people around the world who want to explore the town, and yet many native Londoners rarely venture beyond the river to see the other side of their city.

What COVID-induced changes in hospitality are here to stay?

By Soenke Weiss

The pandemic has fast‐forwarded guest technology plans as hotels across the world have taken steps to minimize all possible touchpoints. The go‐to guest apps have been those that enable online or contactless checking in, menu lookups or digitally executing guest in‐room requests.

Stepping into heart leadership, redefining resilience

By Anni Hood

If there is one group least likely to attract public sympathy for the challenges of the last 12 months it's probably corporate leaders. But it has been a tough pandemic for those at the top. Many have had to make and implement very difficult decisions, as well as displaying extraordinary versatility in responding to changing circumstances at rapid pace.

Time for a seat at the table

By Jane Pendlebury

The UK is witnessing a tentative re-opening now that we are at the end of March. Monday 29th saw the end of the Stay At Home rule in England and the fresh ability to meet up in private gardens. Frustratingly, this lifting of restrictions does not include hospitality's super clean and COVID safe premises until April 12th 'at the earliest'.

Spring Has Arrived In New England, Bringing With It Hope For Its Lodging Markets

By Sebastian Colella

After a long and grueling 12 months, spring has finally arrived in New England and with it, renewed hope for its lodging markets seems widespread across all six states. Although very little improvement has materialized through Q1 of 2021, there are many indicators that growth in lodging demand is around the corner.

Operating Observations From 2020

By Robert Mandelbaum

In 2020, U.S. hotels suffered the worst year of operating performance since CBRE began tracking profitability in 1938. During the year, the average hotel in CBRE's monthly survey of U.S. operating performance experienced a 78 percent decline in Gross Operating Profits (GOP) and achieve the lowest GOP margin (19.

Is This The Lean Hotel Of The Future?

By David Eisen

In one of many entertaining scenes from the 1981 war comedy "Stripes," peak Bill Murray cajoles peak John Candy to mud wrestle a trio of scantily clad women in a bar. You can imagine what ensues, and if you can't, the internet does.

Will COVID Make Hospitality Stronger

By Craig Jacobs

Profound change in the Meetings and Hospitality Industries is on the verge. Hybrid conferences, food and beverage offerings and new cleanliness and service protocols will scramble current standard operating procedures, profit and loss statements, staffing, pricing and the definition of Luxury.

Pivoting for Pandemic Success with Lessons Learned from Newport Hospitality Group

By Larry Mogelonsky

"You take the business wherever and whichever way it comes, but you need to be prepared to serve it," started Andrew Carey, CEO of Newport Hospitality Group (NHG), during our latest conversation. Having known Carey for over two decades, I reconnected with him to deep dive on how the company and its managed properties were fairing during these topsy-turvy times.

A Year of Circumscribed Living

By Iqbal Ahmed

It was a terrifying proclamation. In the second week of March 2020, the World Health Organisation declared the Covid-19 outbreak to be a pandemic. Initially there was both fear and confusion at many workplaces until, three days after the spring equinox, the UK government decided to impose a lockdown and many of us heaved a sigh of relief.

Market Pulse: Washington, D.C. Lodging Market

By Chelsey Leffet

The Washington, D.C. lodging market has historically been one of the most stable of the major U.S. markets given its status as the hub of national political affairs and the center of governmental action and policy, while also playing a major role in international affairs.

The Green Shoots

By Sharad Kapur

Almost a year ago, the Pandemic changed the narrative in every aspect. Across the hospitality, ecosystem hotels had to undergo the exercise of number crunching and reviewing multiple scenarios to arrive at a future outlook.

Manhattan Lodging Overview Summary – Q4 2020

By Chris Fernandes

The COVID-19 outbreak began affecting the New York City lodging market in late February 2020 and, in the months that followed, led to the virtual dissipation of traditional sources of lodging demand. As an international gateway city, the complete stoppage of inbound international flights and travelers is of particular note.

The Future Of Events in a Post-COVID Landscape

By Katie Niland

It has been a challenging year for everyone, and the meetings and events industry has been particularly hit hard by the pandemic. We are seeing light at the end of the tunnel now that vaccinations have begun, however we still have some time to go before we return to normality and as venues are not yet permitted to operate at full capacity, the world of business events will still look very different for the time being.

The Dangerous Threat Of Coronavirus To All Things Equality

By Aradhana Khowala

With COVID 19 we have all been thrown into a new world, barred up in our homes, missing the comfort of friends and family. While we are wrapped up in our own bubbles, we have been oblivious to the fact that many poor people are suffering, and the fact that the gap between the rich and the poor has widened enormously and at an unprecedented rate during the crisis.

HVS Monday Musings: India’s Underserved Leisure Tourism Segment is Leading the Post-COVID Revival

Domestic leisure tourism has been driving the recovery in the Indian hotels sector in the post-COVID era, as inbound tourism continues to be on a standstill even after a year. Key leisure markets such as Goa, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Kerala have been brimming with domestic tourists looking for a break from their COVID-blues, which helped India-wide hotel occupancy to reach 33-35% at the end of 2020.

Leisure in the Time of COVID

By Craig Jacobs

Competition for local and regional leisure business among hotels is unusually intense for the painfully obvious reason that COVID has curbed everything else. To generate leisure demand, properties invest in digital marketing including social media, SEO, paid search, and display advertising.

HVS Market Pulse: Indianapolis, Indiana

By Kristen Gatti

Downtown Indianapolis experienced record visitation in 2019, led by the city's impressive calendar of national conventions and major sporting events. The award-winning Indianapolis Convention Center (ICC), which features 749,000 square feet of exhibit space and twelve connected hotels, hosts several national conventions, expositions, and events every year.

European Hotel Investment Market 2020: Surprisingly Optimistic Results

By Kimberly Yoong

Nearly a year into our days of forced telecommuting and videoconferencing, the words 'impact of COVID-19' continue to ring in our ears. The hospitality industry has undoubtedly borne the brunt of this crisis, as many hotels across Europe continue to record single-digit occupancies, with average revenues per room down by nearly 70% in 2020.

How Air Travel is Changing for Good - and for the Better

By Robert Reitknecht

I recently made the decision to relocate back to my old stomping grounds of Connecticut and begin looking for a new career opportunity. I'd had a great run working at an ultra-luxury resort in Utah, where I was responsible for creating memorable experiences, inspiring strong guest and employee relationships, and collaborating with other guest experience leaders.

Writing for the Moment

By Iqbal Ahmed

As a non-fiction writer, I usually choose to distance myself from the present moment and write instead about the past. It takes the expertise of a journalist to write about the present day. However, in 2020 many writers, finding themselves caught in situations that had arisen because of the pandemic, decided to write about present upheavals.

HVS Las Vegas Casino & Hotel Market Outlook 2021

By Shannon S. Okada

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the Las Vegas economy has been extremely harsh given the market's reliance on visitation and conventions. Following five consecutive years of accommodating more than 42 million visitors, Las Vegas hosted just over 19 million people in 2020 (the lowest number of visitors since 18.

COVID-19’s effects on future pro-environmental traveler behavior

Abstract: This study examines how the COVID-19 pandemic will influence people's pro-environmental travel behavior (PETB) and potentially prompt more ecological/sustainable future travel. A comprehensive model using the norm-activation model (NAM), economic sacrifices theory, and the perceived risks associated with COVID-19 is presented and tested using structural equation modeling on data collected from US travelers during April 2020.

Traveler Sentiment & Influences in 2021: Infographic and Insights on Asia Pacific

By Monya Mandich

To help our advertising partners stay informed and ahead of trends and opportunities to reach potential travelers amidst the rapidly evolving landscape, we're expanding on our recent global research and regional snapshots for the Americas and Europe and taking a closer look at how COVID-19 has impacted travelers in Asia Pacific, including China, Japan, and Australia.

And all that remained in Pandora’s box was hope

By Vanguélis Panayotis

When Pandora opened the jar containing all the evils of the earth, unable to resist the curiosity that consumed her, she spread them on earth, leaving hope in the container out of the reach of men. Yet it is hope, optimism and tenacity that are guiding the tourism sector through the crisis of mobility caused by the restrictions linked to the COVID pandemic 19.

Traveler Sentiment & Influences in 2021: Infographic and Insights on the Americas

By Monya Mandich

The state of travel is rapidly evolving and we continue to see different levels of recovery and engagement across different regions. Expanding on our recent global research, we're taking a closer look at how COVID-19 has impacted everything from traveler confidence to the factors influencing destination, accommodation, and transportation decisions in the Americas, specifically: Canada, the U.

Onsite Clinics in Hotels Serve Travelers Best: New Innovations for Hospitality Bridging Health(care) [H2H] Can have Competitive Market Advantages

The long, exciting journey of 24/7 effort to introduce real solutions to fix the healthcare crisis is here and holds great potential. Prontocare delivers quality, affordable healthcare to help both consumer and the system remain functional without pushing either party to bankruptcy.

Stay or Leave? Internship Stress and Coping Strategies in the Hotel Industry

By Shan Shan Chien

The hospitality industry has been regarded as the most challenging and stressful working environment compared to any other industry sector. As a former waitress in the banquet hall of a five-star hotel and a Michelin starred restaurant, I deeply understand the required components of multi-tasking in a fast-paced environment, while maintaining service quality simultaneously.

What “Duty Of Care” Do Hotels & Resorts Have In 2021?

By Brian Shedd

There have been enough articles written and published on the enduring changes 2020 will have on the hospitality industry. There's no need to rehash all of those. The Duty of Care issue is an emerging one that hoteliers are wise to pay attention to before it becomes part of the many sweeping legislative reforms occurring with the new administration.

COVID-19’s Impact on the Philadelphia Lodging Market

By Kim Conlon

Amid a worldwide pandemic, the lodging industry is facing a downturn that is greater than the past two lodging-market declines combined. During the Great Recession, Philadelphia's occupancy fell three points from approximately 65% in 2008 to 62% in 2009; in 2020, occupancy dropped from the 2019 benchmark of roughly 70% to 44%, reflecting a 26-point correction.

Look Down Under to See What’s Ahead

By Larry Mogelonsky

Married to an Aussie for nearly 40 years, it's given me a more informed perspective on how Australia, and New Zealand for that matter, have faired during this pandemic. Without getting into the statistics, which you can look up on Google on your own time, it's plain to see that many countries in APAC have handled this crisis commendably when compared to those nations in other parts of the globe.

What Impact Has the Pandemic Had on Future Youth Travel and Tourism?

By Charles Knowlton

For almost a year, the pandemic has impacted travel. We have seen plans in a state of flux, not just for the young, but for every generation. With the travel corridor list everchanging and the UK infection rate rising again, the travel industry's need to adopt flexible policies and take proper health and safety precautions is more important than ever.

The Evolution of Hotel Design

By Gordon Coles

In the past year, the hospitality industry has undergone a significant transformation to adapt to the changing demands of guests. Hilton has been at the forefront of ensuring that as travel resumes, hotels are ready to welcome guests back in a safe and secure way.

The Ongoing Action Plan for COVID-19

By Larry Mogelonsky

Imagine this scenario. A guest arrives after a short flight for a five-night stay. A few days later, not feeling well, she goes to a local hospital for a COVID-19 test. She returns to her guestroom, advises the general manager of the situation, and immediately goes into self-isolation there.

How Hotels are Faring in Transformative Times

By Daniel H. Lesser

We live in extraordinary times. There are only a limited number of periods in America's 245-year history which have been as transformative as 2020 (i.e., 1776, 1865, 1929, 1945, 1968, 2001). The confluence of a global pandemic, mass civil disobedience, and the transfer of power will undoubtedly affect how we live and work in 2021 and beyond.

The Future of Hospitality: 2021 and Beyond

By Ron Yariv

The pandemic in 2020 affected the hospitality industry severely, as we have never seen before. The effects have been even greater than what we saw in 2001 and 2008. This mega event has shaken all our assumptions about traveling, managing hotels, and dealing with customers and hotel owners, management companies, lenders, banks, and team members.

How can you Prepare your Restaurant to overcome Future Crisis & Remain Resilient?

By Jefrey Walter

An indispensable solution is "BE PREPARED". We have seen a crisis such as the COVID- 19 like never before, which will help us understand the importance of preparation and to act in accordance. The Hospitality industry was majorly hit, however, some food and beverage businesses tend to modify and adapt to the transitional changes and are successful.

Three hospitality industry realities for 2021

By Kelly McGuire

Like many of you, I suspect, I didn't have the energy to make resolutions for this year. After all, I was forced into enough changes in 2020 that I'm still adapting to, personally and professionally. It felt right not to put any additional pressure on myself to read more, exercise more, be more organized or drink less.

HVS U.S. Hotel Franchise Fee Guide 2020

The HVS U.S. Hotel Franchise Fee Guide provides a comparative review of various hotel franchises based on their applicable franchise fees. The selection of an appropriate franchise affiliation affects a property's ability to compete in its local market, generate profits, and achieve a distinguished image and market orientation.

The Role of Technology in Cleaning and Sanitizing in the Era of the New Normal

By Nutthaphat Poolworaluk

The need to be reassured that your night's stay is cleaner than ever has never been this critical before in the hospitality industry. With the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, heightened measures for cleaning and sanitization need to be imposed, as the safety of both the guests and staff remains paramount in this so-called 'new normal.

HVS Monday Musings: Being Frugal in 2021 – Is this One of the Lessons We Learned from the Pandemic?

By Ajay Mehtani

A crisis is often needed to make drastic changes and the ongoing pandemic is one of the most challenging crises that the world has faced since the Second World War. The COVID-19 outbreak came in suddenly, swept across the world and changed us in an unprecedented way - not only our businesses but even the way we live.

Saying Goodbye to 2020 with Gratitude

By Matt Peterson

This past year has been a tough one; a year which was, for many, filled with suffering and loss and I for one, alongside most others, could not wait for 2021 to commence. In reflecting on the last 12 months, I have consciously decided to adopt a different mentality for what lies ahead.

Stepping Up

By Jane Pendlebury

We can surely look forward to 2021 with an element of optimism even if we know we are not quite where we would like to be, just yet. 2020 turned out to be hospitality's annus horribilis - despite always trying to keep a sunny disposition, there is no point in pretending otherwise.

Summarizing the Financial Consequences of the Pandemic

By Larry Mogelonsky

Is COVID-19 the Armageddon for the hotel industry? That's the first question I asked Dr. Donald W. Wise, co-founder and senior managing director of Turnbull Capital Group. With over 36 years of investment banking experience in the hospitality industry, he and this firm have been involved in roughly $20 billions of advisory, consultation, note sales, preferred equity and debt placements, and transactional engagements on both the buy-side and the sell-side.

Hotels Hotels Hotels - and a different 2021

By Sharad Kapur

Hotels for me have always been an enigma. At the forefront, there is glamour, lifestyle, beautiful and functional spaces, interiors which one wishes in their own homes and a space that lets you be; And behind the scenes, it is a factory swarmed with people busy conducting various chores like a clockwork.

Winning in the COVID Winter with Integration

By Larry Mogelonsky

The pandemic has been a great reset button for our industry, but its long tail is only now unveiling itself. Corporate guests won't be back to their 2019 levels by at least the spring of 2021 - groups will take longer still - while many leisure guests are either hunkering down for financial reasons or because they are still fearful of viral spread.

Doubling Down on Revenue Management for Post-Pandemic Success

By Larry Mogelonsky

One of the most worrisome aspects of how COVID-19 has affected the hotel industry is that we have had to furlough many of our best people. This doesn't necessarily have to be the case, though. My hope in writing about the following management company is that hotel owners and operators can see that often a more bullish approach can work to maintain property solvency and even grow topline revenues in a depressed travel landscape.

The Future Of Work: Navigating Shifting Workplace Trends

By Kimberly Yoong

The impact of COVID-19 has been felt far and wide; across industries, the global pandemic has pushed companies to temporarily shut their offices and shift to remote working. In particular, the hospitality industry had been hit hard and fast, with many employees placed on furlough or being laid off.

How Technology Is Improving COVID-Affected Customer Experience

By Sasha Merkac

The COVID-19 pandemic has sent the hospitality sector, among many other industries, into a tailspin. The resulting impacts of the outbreak have put severe pressure on the sector's normal operations. Among the areas that have been affected in the hospitality industry is consumer experience.

Do Masks Make A Difference In Customer Perception Of Service Quality In Hotels And Restaurants?

By Cihan Cobanoglu

As COVID-19 spreads person to person through respiratory droplets, U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that everyone wears a mask when they are around other people (CDC, 2020). As such, many companies have enforced mask wearing policy for their customers and employees (Markowitz, 2020).

The Excitement of Post-COVID Marketing

By Mark Newton

I am reminded every time I go to my almost empty gym that membership is down 70 percent due to the COVID-19 pandemic. I wonder with the exciting news of a vaccine and hope of eventually getting back .

How Hotels Are Dealing with Royalty Programs & Points That Were Not Used by Guests During the Pandemic

By Korosh Farazad

With US and Europe hotel occupancy rate at its lowest, hospitality companies have to adapt their policies to fit this unprecedented time of COVID-19 pandemic. Hotels have acted so their loyalty programmes can remain at a satisfactory level for customers.

Outlook for the Latin American Hotel Industry

By Richard J. Katzman

The COVID-19 pandemic and resulting restrictions on domestic and international travel, economic activity, and individual movement are having an unprecedented impact on the lodging and tourism industry in Latin America and worldwide.

Let's Embrace The Recovery With "Style"

By Vanguélis Panayotis

As we enter the final stretch before the end of a very special year, 2020, many are announcing a world of tomorrow, a hotel of tomorrow, a tourism of tomorrow... The pandemic is bringing new life to our professions, and we will not have enough on both hands to build this new world.

Moving Forward From 2020

By David Woolenberg

While 2020 has proved a challenging year, we have learned a lot, and there are glimmers of hope as we move into 2021. The pandemic has promoted massive technological innovation and has led to many of us changing our habits, shifting our priorities, and looking forward in a new way.

The Hospitality Industry At Christmas: How To Make It Through The Festive Season

By Gareth Ogden

The promising news of the UK Government's vaccine deal has offered a beacon of hope during this challenging time, but life is far from returning to 'normal' anytime soon. Now entering the recently announced enhanced restrictions of the 'tier system', and with the potential for further lockdowns in 2021, people are approaching Christmas with greater caution and uncertainty, and the hospitality industry is having to adapt during what is traditionally its most lucrative period.

Health and Wellness as a growing hospitality niche in a post-COVID landscape

By Louis de Vilmorin

The "Health & Wellness" sector could well be the answer to post-COVID redevelopment needs and looks set tobe one of the new vectors of growth and profits for hospitality destinations. EHL Advisory Services and HWS have combined their know-how to offer support in the development of impactful health and wellness solutions.

It Shouldn’t Have Taken A Crisis To See All That Our Countries Have To Offer

By Bradley Haines

It wasn't too long ago that I would see international tourists walking the streets of Bangkok, even if it feels like a distant memory to me now. There were times when I was sure that tourist volumes were growing and, indeed, in 2019, Thailand experienced its biggest year of tourism in history with approximately 40 million international guests flocking to the country.

Tourism Tidbits: How to Re-Enchant Tourism

By Peter Tarlow

With the now real potential for a vaccine, we can begin to think about post - pandemic tourism. After Covid-19 becomes a tragic chapter in the history of tourism industry leaders shall have to find ways to rebuild the industry and to increase both the number of people traveling and regain profitability.

HVS Monday Musings: COVID Cost Factor (CCF) - Are we willing to change the status quo in India?

By Ajay Mehtani

All hotels strive to improve and reduce costs on an ongoing basis. During the normal course of operations, hotels try to achieve this by implementing various techniques, such as using alternate products, implementing process improvements, enhancing inventory management, and evaluating more efficient equipment, which allow them to save certain costs during the year.

On the journey to post-pandemic recovery, hoteliers need to be clever about which revenue intelligence solutions they invest in

By Michail Tzouvelekis

The coronavirus pandemic has severely impacted the profitability of the global hospitality industry, which in turn has accelerated its digital transformation, both front and back of house. Thousands of revenue managers have been furloughed or made redundant, and many of those still employed are either having to work remotely or are now responsible for a cluster of hotels, instead of being dedicated to a single property.

Top Ten Trends in Hospitality 2021

By Bob Rauch

Today's hotel business models look entirely different from their predecessors. COVID-19 is just one earthquake that has jolted the landscape this year. The hotel industry must evolve and reinvent itself to exploit the opportunities and cope with the challenges it faces.

It is time to show you CARE!

By Cihan Cobanoglu

The impact of the pandemic on every industry is undisputable. Travel and tourism are no exception. The pandemic has not only impacted the economics of these industries, but it has also changed the behaviors of consumers, most likely forever.

Does your hotel need a commercial strategist?

By Sharad Kapur

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought in many new realities. The ever-evolving hospitality world has received the biggest setback in revenue generation and costs remain high. With travel at its record low, hotels need to remain agile, and they need to be at the forefront to manage different customer groups with a speed that has never been exercised before.

‘Workspitality’: Inspired but complex

By Katherine Grass

As hotels across the world continue to grapple with the pandemic, they are becoming increasingly creative in their approaches. Over the last few weeks we have seen a broad range of hotels announce that they are reimagining their spaces and services to offer rooms on a more flexible basis to business workers and leisure travelers looking for a change of scene.

2021 Will Be the Year of Patience

By Alan Young

This week, it was announced that two vaccine candidates have an over 90% effectiveness rate against the COVID-19 virus. This is incredibly good news for the travel and hospitality industry struggling under the weight of this unprecedented event.

Lodging Recovery in Boston & Cambridge Driven by Leisure Demand as Market Faces Increases to Supply

By Sebastian Colella

As the United States faces a growing number of COVID-19 cases, surpassing 10 million in early November, lodging markets across the country continue to face unprecedented declines in demand. Through October, the Boston & Cambridge lodging market has experienced some of the steepest declines in demand and revenue across the country's top-25 markets according to STR.

Survival Of The Wisest – Embracing Wisdom Under Pressure

By Ramsay Rankoussi

Without a doubt, 2020 has been an unprecedented year … and it's not yet over. While it would be unfair to say that the hospitality and tourism sectors were hardest hit when the struggle has been global, this year has certainly forced us to face up to inevitable questions around our future survival prospects.

The COVID Impact on Hotel Values

By Tommy Crozier

As we enter month nine of the pandemic, the hotel sector remains challenged, transactions are scarce, and from the perspective of someone who doesn't live hotels day in and day out, values seem to be a guessing game.

View all content
Advertisements