NEW YORK, NY – The International Hotel, Motel + Restaurant Show® (IHMRS) has announced the winners for the 33rd annual Gold Key Awards for Excellence in Hospitality Design. A record number of entries of over 260 international projects were considered by a team of eleven prominent judges for these coveted awards, which recognize outstanding hospitality design worldwide for properties completed or renovated within the past 18 months.

Winners of the Gold Key Awards were revealed at the gala on Sunday, November 10th, 2013 at The New York Palace Hotel. The Gold Key Awards were sponsored by Boutique Design and HOTELS magazines, Title Sponsors included Moen and Valley Forge Fabrics, and category sponsors included Swarovski, D’style and Electric Mirror. The awards coincide with the 98th annual IHMRS, which is being held Saturday, November 9th through Tuesday, November 12th at New York City’s Jacob K. Javits Convention Center.

The 33rd annual Gold Key Awards winners are:

Best Eco-Conscious or Socially Conscious Hotel

Minarc (Santa Monica, CA): Ion Luxury Adventure Hotel (Hengill, Iceland)

Best Guest Room — Luxury/Upscale

Rottet Studio (Houston, TX): The James Royal Palm (Miami Beach, FL)

Best Guest Room — Midscale/Budget/Focused Service

Stonehill & Taylor (New York, NY): Refinery Hotel (New York, NY)

Best Hotel — Luxury/Upscale

Ministry of Design Pte Ltd (Singapore): Macalister Mansion (Penang, Malaysia)

Best Hotel — Midscale

SERA Architects (Portland, OR): Courtyard by Marriott - San Diego Downtown (San Diego, CA)

Best Hotel — Budget/Focused Service

The Design Agency (Toronto, ON): Generator Barcelona (Barcelona, Spain)

Judges So Cool (tie)

Nikolas Weinstein Studios, Inc. (San Francisco, CA): Glass Sculpture for Courtyard by Marriott (Hong Kong Sha Tin)
Jeffrey Beers (New York, NY): Toy (New York, NY)

Best Lobby — Luxury/Upscale

HBA Design (Singapore): Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou (Guangzhou, China)

Best Lobby — Midscale/Budget/Focused Service

Simeone Deary (Chicago, IL): Hilton Columbus Downtown (Columbus, OH)

Best Resort

J Banks Design (Hilton Head Island, SC): Hotel Castello di Casole (Casole D'elsa, Italy)

Best Restaurant — Casual Dining

Kinney Chan & Associates (Hong Kong): Café Bord de Mer (Hong Kong)

Best Restaurant — Fine Dining

CORE (Washington, DC): minibar (Washington, DC)

Best Spa

HBA (Singapore): Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou (Guangzhou, China)

Best Suite

The Gallery HBA London (London, UK): The Alpina Gstaad (Gstaad, Switzerland)

Judges for the 2013 Gold Key Awards were: Caroline Baumann (Director, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum); Ong Chih Ching (Founder and CEO, KOP Group); Carlos Couturier (Managing Partner and Creative Force, GRUPO HABITA); Ted Jacobs (VP of Global Design, W | Le Méridien | St. Regis | The Luxury Collection, Starwood Hotels & Resorts); Richard Millard (Chairman and CEO, Trust Hospitality); Priya Paul (Chairperson, Apeejay Surrendra Park Hotels); Ian Schrager (Founder and Chairman, Ian Schrager Company); Claus Sendlinger (Founder and CEO, Design Hotels AG); Petter A. Stordalen (Owner and CEO, Nordic Choice Hotels, The Thief Hotel, Home Invest, Home Capital and Home Properties); Larry Traxler (SVP – Global Design, Hilton Worldwide); Glenn Wilson (VP, International Interior Design, Marriott International, Inc.).

Highlighting the ceremony, Boutique Design and HOTELS magazines presented the 2013 Designer of the Year distinction to Inge Moore, President of HBA Europe. “Not only did HBA Europe produce a staggering number of stunning projects, but the work done for the The Alpina Gstaad and St. Regis Rome set her apart in the eyes of our judges,” said Michelle Finn, President, Hospitality Media Group. “Inge’s passion for design and visionary acumen has made her the guiding spirit for her London based team. Her extraordinary collection of work and the cultivation of a team of highly talented designers has made the studio’s name synonymous with bespoke, sometimes iconic, hotel, restaurant and residential interiors across the region.”

In addition, NEWH, Inc., the Hospitality Industry Network, presented its 9th annual Icon of Industry Award to the late Ray Anderson of Interface Flor. A $5,000 scholarship in Ray’s name was awarded to Amanda Lee Krueger, a student currently enrolled at Florida State University.

The 98th annual International Hotel, Motel + Restaurant Show runs through through Tuesday, November 12, 2013, at New York City’s Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Following a full day of conference and networking activities on Saturday, November 9, the IHMRS features three full days of exhibits from Sunday, November 10, through Tuesday, November 12. The market presents nearly 700 exhibitors and attracts nearly 18,000 industry professionals. It is co-located with the 4th annual Boutique Design New York (BDNY), which runs Sunday, November 10 through Monday, November 11, presenting 400 interior product manufacturers and attracting more than 5,000 hospitality designers, architects and purchasing executives. BDNY features two full days of expert panel presentations and interactive workshops.

IHMRS is sponsored by the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA), the Hotel Association of New York City, Inc. (HANYC), and the New York State Hospitality & Tourism Association (NYSH&TA), and is managed by Hospitality Media Group (HMG).

Additional information is available online, at or .

ST Media Group International