July is an exciting month for international travel as more countries open their borders to foreign travelers. Airlines are offering more domestic and international flight options than in the last few months. However, there are still many countries that Americans cannot travel to this summer.

As the global coronavirus health situation is continuously changing, countries may restrict American visitors with short notice. Before traveling, you should verify if the country requires a 14-day self-quarantine upon arrival. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends a 14-day quarantine after returning from a foreign trip.


Most Americans' travel plans will stay within the Western Hemisphere this summer. Mexico is one of the first countries welcoming American tourists. However, you must fly to Mexico as the land border is closed to unessential travel through July 21, 2020, and potentially longer. The border first closed on March 21, 2020.

The Mexican beaches at Quintana Roo (Cancun and Riveria Maya) began opening in June to American tourists and can have the most lenient travel restrictions. Puerto Vallarta and Los Cabos are open again but in the early reopening phases.

Read the full article at Forbes